Honouring Our Local Veterans 


We are committed to teaching our community, especially future generations, about the incredible contributions and the role of many Canadians (including Billy Bishop) who sacrificed and served to preserve our freedom. It is our goal to help people remember, respect, and honor the sacrifices that have been made by our military.

Each year the Museum pays tribute to a number of Owen Sound and Grey & Bruce County Veterans. Their biographic information is on display at the Heritage Mall in December until early January.  

2020's Honouring Our Local Veterans ceremony was broadcasted LIVE on Rogers TV, Facebook and our Youtube on Sunday, October 25th. Please feel free to share the video with you friends and family! Enjoy and lest we forget! 

If you are a Veteran or know a Veteran that you would like to be nominated for our Honouring Our Local Veterans Program, please print and complete a Veteran's Survey to submit to the museum.

2020 Honouring Our Local Veterans Ceremony video:

 Veterans Survey 

We are actively looking for Veterans to participate in our program!

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

If you have any question please don't hesitate to contact us today!

Video: The 20th Annual Honouring Our Local Veterans Event as 12 local veterans are honoured. For Transcript open video in new tab

147th_market_square_968.61.82 edited.jpg

 Photograph of 147th Battalion Kit Inspection at Market Square, Owen Sound Grey County Museum Collection 1968.061.082. 


Honoring Our Local Veterans Profiles by Year

2020's Honourees


Thank You To All Who Made This List Possible!


Padre Walter Leslie Brown

Walter Ramsey Crowe

Ernest Nelson Gilbank

James Jamison Hall

Francis David Harrison

Harry Allen Hopkins

Robert Barrie Jack

Edward Louis Johnston

Steven Lehman

Thomas Richard Long

Bruce Edward Pinch:

Radoslaw (Roger) Weron


Donald Morton Doran

Henry Albert Hopkins

Thomas Alexander Edward Hopkins

Alfred Joseph Rackley

N. H. Edward Wells


Tony Gardner
Donald MacIsaac
Charles Mann
Harold Martin
Fern McFadden
Alphonse Meyer
Jack Patterson
Jim Patton
Terence Penton
Charles Stevens
John Stevens
William (Ward) Thompson
Lloyd Wilcox


Elmer Lloyd Barfoot

John (Jack) Bowers

Murray Warren Gibbons

Daphne Iris Henderson Thompson-Hirst

Robert (Bob) Johnston

Donald McSporran

Kenneth Reimer

John Medcalf Rowe

Kenneth George Smale

Arthur Cyril Wragg


William Corbet

J.P. (Jock) Fleming

Clifford Iles

Barry Jackson

Gordon Jackson

Thomas McClelland

John Newton

Doris Pedwell (nee Hiatt) 

William Avery Tiner

Clarence L. Wark


Bill Bean

Clarence Christie

Laverne Connell

Orville Cook

Lou Deveau

Ted Horton

Gerald Meades 

John Wright


Bill Grainger

Arthur Haley

Tommy Holmes, VC

Austin Quinlan

Alfred Searle

Hugh Webber


Christopher David Kemp

William Shane Hotchkiss

John Leonard Smith

Thomas Hiram Eastnor Munn

Ron O’Donoughue

Stuart Carlyle Peacock

George Bismark “Cy” Simpson

Rene Michael Joseph Boudrias

John Doherty


Howard Keith Armstrong

Ronald Coates

Robert “Bob” Griffith

Sir Major John “Jack” Gross

Eugene Harrison

Russell Harvey

John A. “Jack” Sargent

Ross Leigh, Sub-Lieutenant

Antonio Pennacchietti

Robert “Bob” G. Sear


Paul Wellington Armstrong

Norman Arthur Barrowcliffe

Eva Irene Daly (nee Wyonch)

Arthur Peter Lobsinger

John Alexander MacLeod

Joseph (Wilmer) Nadjiwon

David Earl Porter

Charles Edmund (Ed) Saunders

Wilfred Harrison Wallace

Frederick Wilkinson


Robert (Bob) Alexander

Frank Ball

Isavela (Vee) Baskerville (nee Perry)

Eldred Crawford

Clarence Edward (Bill) Furness

Andrew Haggins

James Murray Jolley

Alexander McMillian

Murray Slumskie


Delbert Budd

George Cameron

Colin Campbell

Doug Durkin

Harold Gill

Clarence Graham

Wilmot (Curly) Harnden

Sydney Jackson

Bill Langman

Gord Woods


A.J. Bauer

Elizabeth (Bette) Bauer (nee Harris) 

William Courtney

William Mercer

Donald Reidy

John Warrilow


William Avery Bishop

Wallace Frederick Edwards

Winnifred “Davey” Gardner

Leslie Alison Gosling

Peter Kipp

Glenwood Roy Lees

James Duncan MacArthur

Robert Thomas James Mitchell

Timothy Adam Northcotte

Pieter Reinders

Benjamen James McArthur Watson


Beverley Jack Butler

George Edwards

Louis Gault

Robert Alfred Gillson

Lillian Marie Hartney

Barney Lyle Hopkins

Lloyd Hunt

Glen McNeil

Ronald John Williams

Donald Willmott


Charles Albert Dell

Howard Alexander Donovan

Eric Edwin Eastwood

Arthur Hawes

Yvonnea (Chip) Claire Inkster (nee Carpenter) 

Michael Anthony Krulicki

Gladys Helena Morris

Glen Clarence Arnold Rawson, AFC, CD

Percy Straight

Lorne George Weatherall


Gordon Breen 

Robert Fleming Clark

Cliff Denny

Charles Fisher

Ian MacKay

Cliff Saigle

Jack Ward

Philip B. White


June Belanger (nee Marshall)

Andrew Cox

Bill Dane

Robert Fairley

Sam Gow

Donald McConachie

Robert Rutherford

Robert Turner

Alex Twaddle

Barb Uttley (nee Lewins)


Charles Agnew

Robert Comber

Frances Donovan (nee Ramage)

Albert Keiller

Barrett Lumley

Percy Warrilow


Take a Look at our Memorial Plaques 


Tree of Remembrance 


Jack Armstrong

S. George Cameron

Hardie Campbell

Walter Crowe

Harold P. Danard

Glen Fyvie

Lloyd Sinclair Gibson

John G. MacKay

Maury McCrillis

Wilson A. Richie

Robert M. Sanderson

John L. Smith

Wallace Sprung

Frances Warrilow

John Warrilow

Cary Wise

Herb Witzke

Jack William van Os

Clarence Wark

Crawford S. Anglin 

Barrett Lumley

Curwood Armstrong

Daniel Begin

John Ferguson

Clarence Long

Donald A. Mackenzie

R. Brook

H.J. Hamilton


Anglin, Dr. Crawford S

Armstrong, Curwood

Armstrong, Jack

Cameron, S. George

Cocoran, Jack

Cocoran, Leo

Creeper, Jack

Danard, Harold P

Deveau, Louis

Fisher, Charlie

Fyvie, Glen

Gibson, Lloyd Sinclair

Harwood, Walter

Lumley, Barrett

MacKay, John G

McConachie, Don

Saranchuck, William

Sprung, Wallace Charles

Torrance, James Benjamin

Wark, Clarence L

Warrilow, Francis (Seabrook)

Warrilow, John 


Anglin, Dr. Crawford S

Armstrong, Kirby

Armstrong, Jack

Armstrong, Lesley

Armstrong, Bev

Cameron, S. George

Deveau, Louis

Fyvie, Glen

Gibson, Lloyd Sinclair

Lumley, Barrett

MacKay, Frederick George

MacKay, John Gilbert

Pike, Bertram

Sprung, Wallace Charles

Wark, Clarence

Witzke, Herbert Eric

Tree of Remembrance Past Years